“The link in my TikTok bio is only showing to some people. There are people stating they don’t see it in my profile. I had 2 friends that follow me look and 1 couldn’t see the link. Any idea what’s happening? I have more than 1K followers, business profile.”
In what can only be called an act of petty sabotage, TikTok has been removing the website link from user bios for an unknown reason. This change was first noticed a few weeks ago, and since then, users have been up in arms trying to figure out why the link is no longer showing up.
There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to who the link is visible to and who it’s not. Some users with large followings report that their link still works, while others with far fewer followers say that theirs has disappeared. There doesn’t seem to be any correlation between account age, business profile, or number of followers and whether or not the link will show up.
- Related: How to unban your TikTok account
So far, TikTok has given no indication as to why they’ve made this change or when it might be reversed. In the meantime, users are left scrambling to find ways to get their followers to their websites. Many have had success simply typing out the web address in their bios, but for those who haven’t, it’s been a frustrating experience.
What could be behind this sudden change? There are a few possible explanations. It’s possible that TikTok is testing out an option without the website link in order to reduce distractions from within the app. It’s also possible that they’re doing this as a way of punishing users who have violated their terms of service. Whatever the reason may be, it’s clear that this move is not going over well with TikTok’s community.
If you’re one of the many users who have been affected by this change, there are a few things you can do. First, try typing out your website address in your bio. If that doesn’t work, consider using a URL shortener like bit.ly to create a link that’s easier to type out. Finally, reach out to TikTok directly and let them know how you feel about this change. Hopefully, they’ll listen to their users and reverse this decision soon.