Instagram has a few features in place that give you discretion on who sees your content across the platform. One of them is the option to make your account private such that even potential followers need to request access, the other one is the ability to block some individuals from viewing your content. It is quite disheartening when we find that we’ve been blocked. The mere fact of missing your friends on the Instagram feed, however, doesn’t necessarily mean they have blocked you. They may have deactivated their account or stopped posting on Instagram. If you’re wondering whether someone blocked you on Instagram, keep reading. Find out who has blocked you and what happens if someone blocks you on Instagram. Related:Instagram follow limit
How to check if someone blocked you on Instagram
If you suspect that someone has blocked you on Instagram, there are various tricks you can employ to know for sure.
Are you spending more and more time researching the right Instagram hashtags that will work for you? Ingramer FREE hashtag generator provides you with relevant hashtags through analyzing your photo, keyword, or link.
The easiest way to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is to look for their Instagram profile. Search their name or Instagram handle. Once you do so there are 3 possible scenarios:
You may see the profile and also the posts in which case you aren’t blocked on public profiles. For private accounts, if you see the profile with the message (This Account is Private), then everything is fine.
You may also see the profile and the post count, but the area displaying the posts shows (No posts) then, yes, you have been blocked.
However, if the profile doesn’t appear in search at all, then either the person has deactivated their profile, or they did block you. This may warrant further investigations to know for sure if they blocked you on their Instagram
The second method to know someone blocked you on Instagram is to check their profile using old comments. When someone blocks you on Instagram, Instagram doesn’t delete their old comments or tags from your profile.
There’s a slim chance that the person might have deactivated their account. To confirm that, log out from your Instagram profile on the browser or open the incognito mode and open their profile via the link.
If the profile is accessible, then they blocked you for sure, if it doesn’t appear they may have deactivated their account or Instagram may have deactivated their account for various reasons
You could also investigate using the chat thread. Blocking someone on Instagram hides the chat thread for both the participants. Open the Direct Messages (DM) and look for their chat thread.
If the chat thread exists, you aren’t blocked.
But if it is missing, then it’s possible he/she has blocked you. But again, the person might have deactivated the profile (or Instagram may have deactivated it for them), and hence, the chat thread is missing.
To rule out this possibility, you can head to common groups you share in which case if they appear, then definitely they blocked you.
As a last resort, try following them again if you are able to find their profile by any means. If they did for sure block you, hitting the follow button won’t work at all.
When you’re blocked on Instagram, you are no longer able to interact with the person who blocked you. You will not see their profile in search, and you will not see their posts or Stories in your feed. You will still be able to tag the account, but it won’t show up in their activity feed.
You will also not be able to message the person who has blocked you. Once you’ve been blocked on Instagram, the best way to handle it is to forget about it and move on and keep doing what you’re doing. The best revenge is a life well-lived, and what better place to showcase your awesome life than Instagram?