Skip to Content

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots?

We all find ourselves sometimes screenshotting other users’ content on TikTok, be it for later reference, but does TikTok notify screenshots?

Tiktok has grown in popularity in recent days mainly due to its user-generated content which is made up of short videos.

As a result, you may find yourself frequently screenshotting or screen recording other users’ content in order to remember useful information later on, in the case that it gets lost in your ‘liked’ section and you’re not able to find it again.

Or you might just want to remember funny videos they posted because your friends are always asking for them, right?

If you’re wondering “does TikTok notify screenshots?” or “does TikTok notify screen recording?”

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots?

TikTok does not notify users if you took a screenshot, unlike some other social media apps like Snapchat for example which will send you a notification that someone took a screenshot of one of your stories or posts.

This means that it is possible to screenshot videos and post them on other platforms without the original owner finding out.

This widely-used social media platform does not have a function that notifies the original user when their uploads have been screenshotted or screen recorded.

In fact, it’s pretty unlikely that anyone will ever find out that you took a screenshot of their video unless you tell them yourself.

And good news for those of us who are Snapchat users – TikTok is the same, meaning that you can save videos to your memories and share them on Snapchat with all your friends without anyone ever knowing they were originally posted on TikTok.

This also means that you won’t get notified if someone screenshots your content on TikTok!

How Can You Prevent Users from Screenshotting Your TikTok?

On the other hand, if you want to prevent screenshots from being taken of your videos you need to turn your TikTok account into a private account.

To do so, follow these steps:

Open your TikTok account

Go to the ‘Profile’ tab.

Click the three lines in the upper right corner to go to the settings

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 1

Click on the ‘Privacy’ section.

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 2

Toggle the ‘Private account’ option on.

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 3

It may not be the most ideal solution, but if you’re very concerned about your account being screenshot, you should consider turning it to a private account.

It’s also worth noting that if you choose to make your TikTok account private, only people you approve can follow you, view your videos, LIVE videos, bio, likes as well as your following and followers lists.

When you opt for a private TikTok account, other people won’t be able to Duet, Stitch, or download your videos.

Unfortunately, the only way to prevent people from taking screenshots of your videos is by making your TikTok account private.

How Can You Block Accounts On TikTok

Blocking accounts is an effective way to deal with people you don’t want following you on TikTok anymore.

To block accounts on TikTok:

Open up the platforms:

Click on the user you wish to block

Tap the 3 lines in the upper right-hand corner.

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 4

In the menu that appears at the bottom click Block.

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 5

You may also change your mind and want to unblock users whom you’ve previously blocked.

To do so, follow these steps:

1. Launch your profile 

2. Go to Settings and privacy as shown above

3. Select Privacy and safety.

Tap on Blocked accounts at the bottom of this menu.

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 6

Select the user and unblock them.

Prevent People from Downloading Your TikTok Videos

You can prevent people from downloading your TikTok videos easily. Once you do so not even your friends will be able to download your TikToks.

This can be ideal when your content is sensitive and can easily be misused.

To stop people from downloading your TikTok videos:

Go to your profile and tap on the 3 dots at the upper right corner of the screen.

Choose Privacy Settings

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 7

Toggle downloads off

Does TikTok Notify Screenshots? 8Frequently Asked Questions

Does TikTok notify if you screen record?

No, it doesn’t notify the user when you screen records their videos.

Does TikTok notify if you screenshot?

No, it doesn’t notify when someone screenshots your content on TikTok.

Does TikTok notify if you download?

No, it doesn’t notify when someone downloads your video on TikTok.

Does TikTok notify if someone follows you?

No, it doesn’t notify the original user when you follow them on TikTok.

Does TikTok notify if someone unfollows you?

No, it doesn’t notify the original user when you unfollow them on TikTok.

Does TikTok provide an alert if someone screenshots your video?

No, TikTok doesn’t provide any alert when someone screenshots your video.

Does TikTok provide an alert if you delete a video?

No, TikTok doesn’t provide an alert if you delete a video on the app.

Does TikTok send a notification to the original poster of content?

No, it doesn’t notify the user when you screenshot their video on TikTok.

Does TikTok provide an alert if somebody sends you a poll request?

No, it doesn’t send any alert when someone sends you a poll request on TikTok.

Does TikTok provide an alert if somebody sends you an invite to a group?

No, it doesn’t send any alert when someone sends you an invite to a group on TikTok.

Bottom-Line

The only way to accurately prevent screenshots of your videos on TikTok is by turning your account into a private account.

This will also stop people from downloading your videos.

In this way other users won’t be able to follow you, download your content, Duet with you, take screenshots of your videos, and so on.

It’s recommended that you take all the safety measures you can to stay protected on TikTok.

This is because it’s full of bots, fake accounts, and TikTok Trolls who are always looking for ways to stalk or take advantage of unsuspecting users.

The most important thing you must do when using this app remains vigilant.

Be wary of the content you publish online and try to stay away from sharing your personal information or any sensitive videos.

Keeping yourself secure on this app is of the utmost importance if you want to remain protected and avoid any unfortunate events.

By learning how to protect yourself on TikTok you’ll be able to enjoy this app without the fear of being exposed to undesirable things.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.