Does tiktok block comments?

in TikTok on April 17, 2021by Charles Ross

How to block comments on TikTok

TikTok also gives you the power to choose who is allowed to comment on your videos. You can let anyone comment, restrict it to friends, or turn off comments completely.

To enable this feature:

  1. From your profile, open the Privacy and Safety settings
  2. Tap “Who Can Comment on My Videos”
  3. Pick Everyone, Friends, or Off

Controlling what’s commented on your videos

famoid

In a bid to create  a good experience, TikTok has created a filter tool that allows you to make a custom list of keywords that will be blocked from any of your comments on your videos. This is created from understanding that some words maybe offensive to some and totally acceptable to others.

To set manual keyword filters, follow these steps:

1. Go to Privacy and Settings

2. Click “Privacy and Safety”

3. Click “Filter Comments”

4. Click “Add Keywords”

5. Choose your keywords and click “done”

Does tiktok block comments? 1Once set, all comments with one of the keywords from the list will be automatically removed and will no longer appear to anyone. This includes old comments  as well as future comments.

How long does TikTok block you from commenting?

If you are in the habit of commenting on multiple TikTok videos over a short time, you may find yourself asking “Why am I blocked from commenting on TikTok?.”

Well, in order to prevent spamming behavior, TikTok will usually send you a notification “you are commenting too fast”. They will also disable your account for 24 hours. When you comment too fast TikTok may view you as a bot.

How do I find a TikTok I commented on

It’s quite frustrating when you need to find a TikTok video you commented on. Currently, TikTok doesn’t have the “Activity Log” feature. If you leave a comment, you can only retrieve it if either you like/favorite it or other users like or reply to it. You are able to access this section on your notifications. TikTok will send you notifications once other users likes or replies to your comments. A more permanent solution is to ‘favorite’ the video for future reference.

Tiktok you are commenting too fast

The “you are commenting too fast” notification is sent to users who engage in spammy behavior. If you are posting comments too quickly in succession, the app will interpreter these actions as bot-generated.  This is part of TikTok’s ‘digital wellbeing” feature. The good news is that you can disable the digital wellbeing option. To do this go to Settings > Privacy > Privacy Settings > Turn off “digital wellbeing”

TikTok you are following too fast 

Similarly, the TikTok “you’re following too fast” notification comes up for the same reasons. It means you are following users too fast and the system interprets your actions as bot-generated. This is quite helpful as it eliminated deceptive bot accounts from the community. When you receive the “you are following too fast” notification, you will then be barred from following users for some time. In order to solve this in the future, try to limit the number of follows in a given time period.

famoid

Categories: TikTok